Allotment

New and unusual crops for 2017

img_20170305_153822_025
Iris Reticulata. Spring is on the way!

We’re into March, and while we haven’t seen the last of the cold weather it certainly feels like the growing season is getting started – bulbs are flowering, the rhubarb is sending up shoots and there’s even some blossom on a few trees. I’ve got radish, lettuce, parsley, spring onion, broad bean, pea and sweet pea seeds sown in the polytunnel and shallots planted, and I’m thinking ahead to some of the new crops I’ll be trying this year.

Some allotmenteers seem to get endless pleasure from growing nothing but cabbages and onions, but I do think part of the fun is growing something new every year, particularly when there are so many delicious vegetables and vegetable varieties that you’ll never see for sale in a supermarket or greengrocer. Here’s some of the new crops I’ll be trying this year:

Mashua

A close relative of the nasturtium, mashua is grown primarily for its tubers. Carl Legge very kindly sent me some mashua tubers from his garden last autumn, some of which we saved for planting, while others got roasted in their skins. They tasted fantastic – mustardy, with an almost five-spice like flavour. The leaves and flowers are also edible, I believe.

img_20161201_182216
Special delivey! Mashua tubers

KalettesSutherland Kale, Dazzling Blue Kale

These are all variations on the kale theme. Kalettes (or flower sprouts) are a relatively new hybrid between brussels sprouts and kale, producing little bundles of tender kale leaves along its stalk. Sutherland and dazzling blue kale are both varieties from the brilliant Real Seeds Company. I’m particularly interested in Sutherland kale which has been grown for decades by crofters near Ullapool in North West Scotland (a part of the world that I love to visit whenever I can). I suspect the allotment pigeons will be equally excited about these crops.

Agretti

Also known as ‘Monk’s Beard’, this is a samphire-like vegetable which is very popular in Italy. The seeds are not actually seeds but miniature rolled up plants and germination can apparently be tricky, so I’ll sow more than I actually need.

Spinach

Nothing unusual about spinach, but I have somehow managed to avoid growing it thus far! Notorious for running to seed, I want to try sowing spinach in late summer in order to over-winter it and add some variety to our winter and early spring harvests next year.

Oca and Yacon

I grew both of these last year, and have saved tubers to replant. Oca tastes like a lemony potato, and when roasted they taste exactly like a good chip which has been doused with salt and vinegar. Yacon is bizarrely sweet, good raw in salads, and excellent coated in breadcrumbs, fried, and served with katsu curry sauce. Trust me on this one!

img_20161214_161133
2016 oca harvest

What new crops will you be trying this year? Have you grown any of the above? If so, do let me know how they got on, or if you’ve any top tips.

2 thoughts on “New and unusual crops for 2017

  1. I’m growing Dazzling Blue kale this year and really looking forward to it! I thought about Sutherland, but decided against it for this year–I look forward to hearing how you get on with it. I’m planting artichokes this year, variety Tabor, which is supposed to be more cold hardy than many artichokes. I have never successfully cooked artichokes, so I don’t know why I’m so committed to growing them, but I’m hoping having fresh ones will be nice. Plus, perennials FTW!

    Like

Leave a Reply

